Foray into the arts? Once again, I find myself pulled in the direction of an alternate creativity. I promised my wonderful girlfriend; a few months ago, that for her birthday we would get two matching rings. Since then we have spent a lot of time trying to find the right look for both of us, as well as something that matches. And then it occurred to me that I have the essential equipment to design and cast these rings at my shop. I think probably the lost wax process will work the best for the size and detail required; but I am not going to carve the masters, I am going to pour the wax into a negative mold that I will produce on the 3d printer. In this way i can complete the design in 3D software (Alibre) and make a multi-part mold for the wax. After that, I will fall back on a conventional lost wax process with spin (centrifugal) casting. I will document the process with pictures and video for this blog. The rings will be made from silver with inset turquoise stone.

